Getting some inspiration

Painting gives me joy and it energises me, but I have to admit that sometimes I get a bit run down. When that happens, it often helps when I look at some art at a gallery. I can browse the net for countless images of great art, but getting out of the house on my bicycle and spending a few hours enjoying the beautiful work at the NGV is always refreshing and inspirational.

The recent exhibitions that I went to were Pierre Bonnard and the Rembrandt exhibitions. Pierre Bonnard’s exhibition was particularly memorable as the space was specially designed by India Mahdavi, and what a space that was – I enjoyed the both the artworks and the exhibition space. Looking at Bonnard’s works made me yearn to paint! I was also people watching – do gallery visitors generally dress more interestingly than the people on the street? 😃

I took lots of photos and started painting when I got home. Here are a few inspired by the scenes I in the gallery.

A gallery scene, oil on linen
At the Gallery, oil on linen (sold)
Gallery Visitor, oil on linen

On another occasion, I went to the NGV to do some drawing exercises. Here are some sketches of busts.

And after that my friend Di wanted to sketch some puppets so we went to the puppet section, and I captured her quickly while she was sketching.

If you are intending to sketch at the NGV, they only allow dry medium. Don’t forget to borrow a portable folded seat (like the one Di was sitting on in my sketch above) at the reception.

Have a good week.



Do Leave a Comment