Malaysian food sketches

Love food, love food sketching… But some of you may have already guessed that. 😊

Hawker or street food is plenty in Malaysia. While I was out for dinner one night, I managed to sketch this noodle seller who was taking a break to check her smart phone.

 noodle seller by  evelyn yee 

Street food is so popular that one does not need to be on the street to eat some anymore; they have moved into shops and shopping malls where you can enjoy your meal in air-conditioned comfort.

Here are a couple that I managed to draw:

 malaysian meal by evelynyee
Above : Frothy teh tarik (froth as a result of pouring from quite high up), Yee Mee ( crispy noodle topped with prawn, chicken, fish cake and veg served with egg sauce) and a must-have bowl of chopped chilli with soy sauce. The chilli was spicy and gave the meal such a kick that bits of my lips were numb and my nose was runny (!!) by the time I finished the meal and the girls in the shop came to have a look. Luckily, they approved 😀.

pork noodle by evelyn yee 
Pork noodle with soy sauce, soup and chilli for brunch – yum. I showed this to the noodle seller and he said “Nice” with a big smile.

Hope you enjoyed this post, more food sketches from Malaysia soon.



Do Leave a Comment