New Zealand Journal

NewZealand_Journal  

I brought with me 2 sketchbooks (A5) to New Zealand. A few days into the trip, I realised that I will run out of pages before the end of the trip so I started drawing very small. Here is a very crowded spread.

NewZealand_Journal - Copy - Copy

Zooming in, from left:
-> In Marahau – having cider and snack after a 6 hour walk;
> in Nelson – sparkling wine at lunch and an nice old building drawn during lunch on a sunny afternoon

NewZealand_Journal - Copy

From left:
> In Nelson – a recumbent bike, a scooter and a motorcycle by the road,
> Morrison Square (reddish brown building) – a structure in a shopping area, and
> a cathedral in Nelson (called Christ Church Cathedral).

I am amazed how much I could fit into a spread!

I did run out of pages, but I found some watercolour pads in Nelson. I bought 2 and had them spiral bounded together for a 3rd sketchbook. That was the day before I left New Zealand! I was thankful to be able to draw on the plane.